Veterans-CCW Educational Services
Training Course Basics:
The required 16-hour firearms training course will include range qualification time and shall cover the following:
Here are some of the highlights of the bill:
The license shall be valid throughout the State for five years.
The fee for the license is $150.00.
The license permits the licensee to carry a loaded or unloaded fully or partially concealed firearm on his person or in a vehicle.
The State Police must issue or deny the application no later than 90 days (but there are exceptions).
Law Enforcement agencies can object to an applicant for various reasons, however there will be an appeal process and a review board.Qualifications for a license are - at least 21 years old, possess a current FOID card, and:Pass extensive background checks: NICS, federal, state, & local criminal, mental health, domestic violence, and includes juvenile adjudications.
Finger prints will be in electronic format.
Head and shoulder color ID photo taken within 30 days preceding the application.
A photocopy of any certificates or other evidence of compliance with the training requirements.
There will be non-resident licenses. The fee is $300.00There are areas where you cannot carry. See page 20, Section 65.
There will be standarized signs for places where carry is prohibited.
Firearms training courses must be approved by the State Police and there will be a list posted on the ISP web site.The training course or combination of courses will be at least 16 hours including range qualification.Training courses will cover (1) firearm safety (2) basic principles of marksmanship (3) care, cleaning, loading and unloading of a concealed firearm (4) State & Federal laws relating to ownership, storage, carry and transportation of firearms and appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting and carrying firearms.
Applicants must provide proof of certification by a certified instructor that the applicant passed a live fire excercise with a concealable firearm consisting of firing a minimum of 30 rounds on a B-27 silhouette target; 10 rounds at 5 yards; 10 rounds at 7 yards; 10 round at 10 yards with a success rate of 70%. This does not have to be with gun you will carry.
The State Police shall recognize up to 8 hours of training already completed toward the 16 hour requirement if the training course is approved by the State Police and recognized under the laws of another state. Remaining hours must cover the State & Federal laws covering ownership, carry & transportation of firearms and the range qualification.
The State Police shall accept 8 hours of training as completed if the applicant is active, retired or honorably discharged member of the United States Armed Forces.
Instructors shall be certified by the State Police and must keep records of all students trained and range qualified.
Preemption of Home Rule - any ordinance or regulation or portion thereof enacted on or before the effective date of this Act that purports to impose regulations or restrictions for concealed carry in a manner inconsistant with this Act shall be invalid in its application to licensees under this Act.
Consolidation of concealed carry license and FOID card - the Director of the State Police shall create a task force to develop a plan to incorporate and consolidate the concealed carry license and FOID card into a designation on the Illinois driver's license or Illinois ID card.
Here is a link to the Illinois State Police web site Concealed Carry page -www.isp.state.il.us/firearms/ccw/ccw-faq.cfm